This month we’re highlighting GED® State Relationship Manager Adora Beard in our Q&A feature. What does a typical work day look like for you?

My days are very unconventional, as mainly particular issues that arise within my portfolio of jurisdictions will drive it.  My focus is to fully understand state requirements and to be in constant communication about the efficacy of the program. I enjoy the “toggle” of representing the GED Testing Service, while simultaneously giving voice to a jurisdiction’s unique utilization of the GED program.  If there are any issues, then I follow up with the relevant teams to make sure that we all understand the state’s rules and regulations and to ensure that the problems are resolved.

I always say that in order to do my best work, I must be among those that roll up their sleeves and get the job done.  In keeping with that, you will find me in the midst of Alabama, Connecticut, Idaho, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan Prisons, Rhode Island, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

How long have you been working with GED Testing Service?

I have been working with GED Testing Service for 25 years and it continues to be a remarkable journey, indeed!!

What do you enjoy most about your job?

I love seeing our partners reach state program goals and being a part of that story.  I see myself as a trusted advisor and it is exciting every single time we deliver new features or system enhancements that help jurisdictional programs make good on promises made to their students.

What kind of work did you do before coming to GED Testing Service?

I have worn many, many hats throughout my lengthy career!  Finance, administration, and management remains the baseline of my career.  Meanwhile, along the same trajectory as the job that I have now, I have worked with the American Council on Education’s former External Diploma Program and prior to that the Council for International Exchange of Scholars’ Fulbright Program.

Where is your hometown?

I consider Silver Spring, Maryland my hometown because it is the place that I have lived the longest.  I’m a “Navy brat” and come from a military family.

Favorite travel spot?

Malta – A jewel of a place that both humbles and inspires me upon every visit.

Ocean City, Maryland – Good old fashion fun that brings pure joy to my family and closest friends!

What kinds of hobbies and interests do you have outside of work?

I LOVE music! All music soothes my soul and has a purpose in my life. The genre is of no consequence, it just has to be good music. Some days I need the music and some days I need the lyrics. I am also a novice motorcycle and classic car enthusiast.

If you were stuck on an island what three things would you bring?

A knife, sheet music, and a whole lot of faith.

What was your favorite toy as a child?

My parent’s old high-fidelity vinyl record player and I was the best D.J. on the block.

Who is the best teacher you ever had? Why?

My son. There are no instructions for when you first become a parent. Important lessons are taught along the way and he was a patient teacher.

What are two things still on your bucket list?

I would love to get the old band back together (I was the lead singer in a band during my early twenties) for one more gig! Even if it is just in my small garage.

I still dream of having my very own motorcycle and of course, it’s going to be a Harley.