Skip to main content

South Dakota

Earning a GED® credential in South Dakota opens the door to countless future opportunities. Whether pursuing further education or improving your career prospects, this credential is a valuable asset that helps you build a strong foundation for your future. This guide walks you through the steps to getting your South Dakota GED® certificate.

FAQs for Earning a GED in South Dakota

Top Policies

How to Get a South Dakota GED® Credential

Follow these steps to earn your GED® credential in South Dakota.

1. Check Your Eligibility

To enroll in the South Dakota GED® program, you must first meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Age: The student must be at least 18 years old. If you are under 18, you can still take the exam if you attend an in-school GED® prep program, have alternative instruction, or provide a waiver signed by your parent/guardian and a school official.
  • Enrollment Status: You should not be enrolled in high school or have received a high school diploma.
  • Residency: You don’t have to be a South Dakota resident to be eligible.
  • Identity Verification: You must present government-issued identification showing your name, date of birth, photograph, and signature at the time of the exam.

2. Create a GED® Account

To register for the GED® exam, you must create an account on the GED® website. Your GED® account will enable you to schedule test appointments and access study resources.

3. Prepare for the GED® Test

The GED® test covers four subjects: math, science, social studies, and reasoning through language arts. You can use the study resources available through your GED® account to prepare for the GED® exam. The resources include online courses and practice tests. Also, consider enrolling in GED® classes or programs at your local adult education center or community college.

4. Schedule and Take the Test

Once you feel prepared for the GED® exam, schedule your test appointments on your GED® account. You can take the South Dakota GED® exam at several testing centers throughout the state. You’re not required to take all four tests simultaneously; you can schedule them on multiple days depending on your preference and the testing center’s availability.

5. Receive Your GED® Credential

After passing all four GED® tests, you’ll receive your GED® credential. This credential is recognized as a high school equivalency certificate by the state of South Dakota, opening up new opportunities for further education or career advancement.

Getting Your GED® Credential Online in South Dakota

South Dakota students may also take their GED® test online on the official GED® website. This flexible option is for students who can’t easily access testing centers or prefer the convenience of taking the test from home.

To schedule the online GED® test, you must sign up for an account on the GED® website and select the online testing option. Students must meet the following additional requirements aside from the standard eligibility criteria:

  • You must have a computer with a webcam, microphone, and a stable internet connection.
  • You must have a private, quiet, and well-lit testing environment.
  • You must score “green” in the GED® Ready® practice test within the last 60 days for each test subject you want to take online.

Additionally, the online GED® test requires a proctor to monitor the test-taking process. You can earn your GED® credential online by preparing adequately and ensuring a reliable testing environment.

Start Your Journey to Earning a South Dakota GED® Credential

Ready to earn your South Dakota GED® credential? Explore the GED® test centers near you today, or check out the GED® classes available in South Dakota.