In this month’s Q&A feature we’re highlighting Scott Salesses and learning more about his work as a State Relationship Manager (SRM). 

How long have you been working with GED Testing Service?  

I started working at GED Testing Service in August 2011.

What do you enjoy most about your job as a State Relationship Manager?

I strongly believe in our mission and I like talking and presenting to people about what we bring to the table to help more people obtain their GED® credential and go on to postsecondary education and careers. Also, in this job I’ve had the opportunity to travel to places in the U.S. that I’ve never traveled to before from big cities to rural communities and everything in between. I currently work with the states of Colorado, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Ohio, Oregon, Washington and Wisconsin so look for me in one of these states!

What kind of work did you do before coming to GED Testing Service?

Before coming to GED Testing Service I worked with Pearson Education. In that role I worked with faculty from 2 & 4 year colleges to create customized print and digital instructional materials and classroom resources.

Where is your hometown?

Pembroke, MA

Favorite travel spot?


What kinds of hobbies and interests do you have outside of work?

Movies, reading, politics, Crossfit, and social media

If you could do another job for just one day, what would it be?

Film director

Who is the best teacher you ever had? Why?

I’ll say my senior year high school English teacher. Of course we did lots of reading and writing, but she also made us present in front of the class regularly and it forced you to develop some presentation skills and become more confident at it.

What is the best book you have ever read?

To Kill a Mockingbird

What characteristic do you most admire in others and why?

Another difficult question. I’ll say self-deprecation.

What two things would you buy or do if you won the lottery?

I would love to share some of the winnings with family and friends. Also, I see a lovely home in Malibu or perhaps somewhere in the Caribbean if I won a large sum of money. I could list a lot more than just 2 items…lol.