This month we’re highlighting GED State Relationship Manager Liz Lanphear in our Q&A feature. 

What does a typical work day look like for you?

I’m not sure there are typical work days for a SRM. Every day has its own look. Some days I work on digging into what’s going on with each state and consider how I can help them. Some days they come to me with situations they need help working through. Some days I’m traveling and meeting the people I serve (that’s my favorite part). Some days I get to educate others either by webinar or face to face, about the GED and all of the resources and tools available… okay, maybe that’s my favorite – I love hearing/seeing them get excited about finding new resources! And some days, it’s all of the above and more!!

How long have you been working with GED Testing Service?

Six months

What do you enjoy most about your job?

Is it fair to say everything? I am thankful that there are such great teams who help solve the problems and answer the questions every day and who have been so helpful as I’m learning about GED Testing Service and Pearson VUE. I also really enjoy that there aren’t typical days and that I get to do all the great things I mentioned in the first question.

What kind of work did you do before coming to GED Testing Service?

I’ve been in adult education and GED testing in various capacities since 1996. I started as a GED examiner and was overwhelmed with the life-changing power of the GED exam. I moved into leadership/administration roles in adult education programs. I was the State GED Administrator for Kansas during the transition to the 2014 test.

Where is your hometown?

Hmmm… I was born in Alamogordo, New Mexico, lived in Lancaster, California a few years, and grew up and graduated from high school in League City, Texas (south of Houston). I’ve now lived in Kansas the majority of my life and reside in Lawrence, Kansas…but, I guess I consider League City, Texas my “hometown”.

Favorite travel spot?

Anywhere with water, preferably ocean. I just returned from Hawaii – LOVED it!!

What kinds of hobbies and interests do you have outside of work?

I’m rediscovering watercolor painting.

If you were stuck on an island what three things would you bring?

Fishing rod to catch fish, a knife to prepare it and matches to have fire to cook it.

What was your favorite toy as a child?

A bb gun. I had three brothers and we would go “hunting” in the fields and woods (we set up targets to shoot).

Who is the best teacher you ever had? Why?

The best teacher I had was Dr. Cheryl Polson, my professor in my first Master’s class. I am an “outside the box” thinker and love to question things and even challenge the norm. This is something that didn’t usually go over well in high school and college. She was the first person to applaud my critical thinking and willingness to get outside of the typical to look for new answers.

What are two things still on your bucket list?

I don’t have one. I suppose if I did it would be to love my friends and family to the best of my ability every day and appreciate getting to be part of seeing their lives unfold. Second, would be to help as many people as possible realize they have potential and find their next step.